Professor Gao is the winner of the B. Ramakrishna Rau Award

We are pleased to announce that our founding member Professor Guang R. Gao is named the 2017 recipient of the B. Ramakrishna Rau Award. This award, granted by the IEEE Computer Society, recognizes people who have made significant contributions in the field of computer microarchitecture and compiler code generation.

According to the press release, Professor Gao was recognized “For contributions to compiler techniques and microarchitectures for instruction-level and thread-level parallel computing”. This award acknowledges his contributions to the field of Dataflow systems, and identifies the importance of his research in parallel program execution models, as well as compiler and architecture techniques, which help to overcome the limitations of the Von-Neumann architecture models through the use of Dataflow.

This is the 7th time this award is given since 2011. Previous winners of this award are Gurindar S. Sohi, Robert P. Colwell, Wen-mei W. Hwu, Kemal Ebcioglu, Joseph A. (Josh) Fisher, and Yale N. Patt.

This STC acknowledge and congratulates Professor Guang R. Gao for this achievement